Terminal Heist Forums

The place to discuss Terminal Heist, the space piracy and defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-24 00:05:51

zed

Preventing map hacks

Good to see that this is getting going.

I'm curious as to how in the end you plan to deal with map hacks. Is it going to be pure security-through-obscurity, or are you going to have all games running on the server?

Relatedly, will there be a source release?

#2 2016-02-24 03:26:21

cullman

Re: Preventing map hacks

My day job is in security, so I know the ultimate futility of security through obscurity.  That being said, there is no reason for us to be open source and make it dead simple for anyone to spend 5 minutes and write a map hacking client.  We've experimented with doing all the logic on server side, and there are ways we could make that work.  The downside of that model is worse performance for the end-user and higher cost for us to run it.  So we are going to encrypt the map better, and make it harder to intercept the map load call, but ultimately someone with enough time on their hands will be able to disassemble it and figure it out.  Ultimately, we plan to implement some analytics on the server side (likely using graph database technology) to look for cycles in terms of dual/multiple account usages, and outliers in terms of "luckiness".  That combined with the fact that we will have administrative oversight, will ban cheaters, and we no longer have random names (meaning that people will accurately talk about an individual user's unlikely luck - I hope will be enough to make cheating not worth the time or effort in this game.

#3 2016-02-24 11:53:37

zed

OK. My sensibilities are offended by any approach which involves forcing the
client to tell the user less than it knows, and as you know it can't truly
work (at least, without the monstrous police state apparatus of "Trusted
Computing"). But RTS's have been mostly getting away with it for decades, so